Trust

dive

I’m sure you’re aware of the old adage “What you see in others is a reflection of yourself.”

Well, lately I’ve been seeing a lack of trust in many people across a wide spectrum of experiences. Worrying about whether or not you’re going to have enough money because you don’t trust that the abundant universe will provide what you need when you need it. Trying to figure out how to make someone like you because you don’t trust that there are people who like your authentic self. Trying to force a person to take on board what you think is best for them because you don’t trust that they are on the perfect path for their unique soul. Trying to control the flow of an improvised performance because you don’t trust it to evolve naturally and effortlessly. Then there’s the more large scale distrust in society, believing that life is not safe and others are out to get you.

I don’t always acknowledge that the things I see in others are a reflection of my own character. Sometimes it’s because I don’t feel comfortable believing I’m as beautiful and amazing as some of the people I feel blessed to have met. Sometimes it’s because I don’t think I also carry the character flaws I judge in others.

This trust thing kicked in to my conscious awareness on my way home tonight, and I can honestly say that everything I described above is something I’ve embodied on plenty of occasions in my life. And now is a time when Trust is definitely something I feel I could benefit with more of. Trusting that I’m on the perfect path for my unique soul. That life is evolving naturally and effortlessly. That there are people who love my authentic self. And that the universe is providing what I need when I need it.

This lack of trust and desire to control life can be dissolved in presence, in focusing your attention on the present moment, on your breath, for example, or the unchanging awareness at the foundation of your being, instead of allowing yourself to be swept away by thoughts and stories about things. If you can’t bring yourself to actively trust, at least you can give yourself a break from worrying.

Lots of Love and Trust.

.

Share. Like. Comment.

