Like Attracts Like

20121122-150317.jpg
It’s amazing how like attracts like. I had a coffee with sugar this morning (which is very unusual for me) and the jitters that it gave me where followed by the incessant ramblings of a guy who really gets on my nerves, which only stopped when a really intrusive high pitched alarm went off in the same room as us. Coincidence? I think not.

A few days ago, I had a series of extremely challenging experiences and feelings that seemed to snowball over the course of the day, which only got better when I made a conscious effort to focus on the good stuff in my life. I went as far as to write a gratitude list; and choosing to change the direction of that train of thought almost instantly changed the type of experiences I attracted.

Like attracts like, so if you’re having a challenging time, write a list of your challenges to help you gain perspective on how manageable they are; then write a gratitude list and focus on the blessings in your life. This will attract more of the same into your experience.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Like Attracts Like

  1. Hi Patrick. I totally get this. Once upon a time, when I was a teenager, I learned martial arts just to be cool and to be able to win in a fight. The result: agressive people seemed to be drawn to me everywhere I went. But then I grew up, met people like you, and realised martial arts should be about creating harmony in my life. And that’s what happened. A simple change in my perspective acted like a magnet, drawing new, positive experiences into my life 🙂

    1. Sometimes lessons are learned the hard way. 😉

      One example of “like attracting like” that has recurred for me is that I find it near impossible to get in contact with my friends whenever I’m feeling lonely. It’s as if the feeling (and state of mind) of being lonely (or alone) attracts obstacles to my no longer being alone (or feeling lonely), such as people not hearing their phone ringing or getting my text messages until too late in the night.

      I’m still learning how best to navigate those feelings of loneliness and thoughts of aloneness when they occur. Any suggestions are welcome. 🙂

Share if you care. Like if you like. Comment if you, eh, womment.

