Getting to Know You

It’s funny how, although I came to know my eternal self many years ago, I’m still getting to know my human self bit by bit as time goes on. For instance, I now know that while I get really excited when I see musical instruments for sale, I know I don’t yet have the discipline to learn them properly. I like instant results, which is why I like photography and electronic music. My paintings rarely take more than an hour to make and are usually bursts of colour and creativity as opposed to precise strokes and dabs. I guess I could equate myself to a geyser – or at least my understanding of how a geyser works – with periods of dormancy interspersed with explosions of messy water. I say ‘messy water’ because there is a real flow to the creativity that doesn’t usually consider things like tidiness. πŸ™‚

I used to try to work against the cycle, hoping to maintain a consistent productivity, but it never really worked out for the best. Now I honour it, as I know that the periods of rest are just as helpful and productive as the periods of activity (especially now that it’s Winter – the time of hibernation) and the results are usually WAY better when in tune with my natural cycles.

As it is, our society, with its 9-5 Mon-Fri jobs, doesn’t really cater for these individual cycles, but I reckon it’s only a matter of time until it does. There are exceptions to this rigidity in the workplace, and there are people for whom this 9-5 Mon-Fri schedule work perfectly well. I guess the trick is to get to know yourself and find what works best for you, then honour that as much as possible. πŸ™‚

Share. Like. Comment.

